Time left for the Summit
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds
The first ever Russia-Africa Summit will be held in Sochi in October 2019. The Decree No. 74 on holding the Summit and other events with the participation of Heads of African States was signed by the President of Russia Vladimir Putin on February 25, 2019. Aide to the Russian President on Foreign Affairs, Yuri Ushakov, was appointed Chairman of the Organizing Committee, which membership is to be finalized within a month of signing the presidential decree.

Roscongress Foundation, a major organizer of congress and exhibition events in Russia and beyond, was assigned to be the operator of the Summit and the corresponding events. On 11 March, Roscongress Foundation and Intexpertise LLC agreed on cooperation between their organizations. The signed document envisages joint work for the creation and promotion of the Russia-Africa: Shared Vision 2030 Report, including the organization of the expert collaboration network.

In addition, as part of the Report's preparation, expert roundtables and side events are to be arranged with participation of Intexpertise representatives within the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (6–8 June) and the first Russia-Africa Economic Forum, which is timed to coincide with the Russia - Africa Summit (October, Sochi).

It is expected that the first Russia-Africa Economic Forum, held as a part of the Russia-Africa Summit in Sochi, will be attended by representatives of international business and government structures of Russia and Africa.

The idea of holding the first Russia-Africa summit was first initiated by the Russian President Vladimir Putin on the margin of the BRICS summit in Johannesburg in July 2018. The decision was preceded by a long process of negotiations that took about 10 years, starting with the first (and so far the only) trip of the Russian President to sub-Saharan Africa. By 2019, the favorable atmosphere has finally emerged — nowadays, Russia is showing a great interest in forming new international alliances as it never did before, meanwhile, Africa has become one of the world's most rapidly developing economic regions.

The Russia–Africa summit will be the first in a series of incrementally upscaled multilateral activities under the aegis and direction of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Russian Ministry of Energy, the Russian Ministry of Economic Development, as well as legislative bodies and public organizations. Earlier, China, USA, EU, India, France, Turkey, Japan, and South Korea have already held events within that type of format.

The decision to organize the Russia-Africa summit was a natural outcome of the increased interest in cooperation from both sides that has been witnessed over the past decade. The Summit and other high-level events require achievement of a certain point of mutual relations, in which Russia and African countries have already accumulated considerable experience in local partnerships, joint projects and effective communication on certain issues on the world stage and also outlined problems that must be solved for the subsequent growth of cooperation.

Саммит «Россия–Африка»
Первый в истории саммит «Россия–Африка» пройдет в Сочи в октябре 2019 года. Указ №74 о проведении саммита и других мероприятий с участием представителей африканских государств был подписан президентом России Владимиром Путиным 25 февраля 2019 г. Председателем Организационного комитета, состав которого должен быть сформирован в течение месяца с даты подписания указа, назначен помощник президента по внешнеполитическим вопросам Юрий Ушаков.

Исполнителем услуг, связанных с подготовкой и проведением саммита «Россия–Африка» и других мероприятий подобного формата, был назначен Фонд Росконгресс. 11 марта было подписано соглашение о сотрудничестве между Фондом и ООО «Интеграция Экспертизы». Документ предусматривает совместную работу над созданием и продвижением доклада «Russia–Africa: Shared Vision 2030» («Россия–Африка: общий взгляд в 2030 год»), а также организацию научно-консультативного и экспертного взаимодействия.

Кроме того, планируется организация экспертных круглых столов и других мероприятий с участием представителей ООО «Интеграция экспертизы», которые пройдут в рамках Петербургского международного экономического форума (6–8 июня) и первого экономического форума «Россия–Африка», приуроченного к Саммиту. В нем примут участие представители международного бизнеса и государственных структур России и Африки.

Саммит «Россия–Африка» станет первым в ряду нарастающих по уровню многосторонних мероприятий под эгидой МИД, Минэнерго, Минэкономразвития, органов законодательной власти и общественных организаций. Ранее мероприятия такого формата уже проводили Китай, США, ЕС, Индия, Франция, Турция, Япония, Корея.

С инициативой проведения мероприятий в формате «Россия–Африка» выступил в июле 2018 г. Президент России Владимир Путин на саммите БРИКС в Йоханнесбурге. Решение о его проведении стало итогом переговорного процесса, который шёл около 10 лет — приблизительно с первого (и пока последнего) тура российского президента по странам Африки к югу от Сахары. К 2019 г. для его проведения сложились оптимальные условия: Россия как никогда прежде заинтересована в новых международных альянсах, а Африка закрепилась на позиции одного из центров роста мировой экономики.

Решение об организации саммита «Россия-Африка» стало закономерным результатом повышения интереса обеих сторон к сотрудничеству в течение последнего десятилетия. Саммит и другие мероприятия высокого уровня требуют достижения определенной стадии отношений между странами, при которой ими уже накоплен значительный опыт локальных партнёрств, совместных проектов и результативной коммуникации по определенным вопросам на мировой арене и сформулированы проблемы, которые должны быть решены для последующего роста кооперации.

По оценкам экспертов, успех Саммита и его роль в интенсификации российско-африканских отношений зависит не столько от переговоров и дискуссий на российско-африканском форуме и встреч в рамках саммита «Россия–Африка», сколько от подготовки к ним, которая должна помочь представителям России и Африки осознать свои возможности, обнаружить точки соприкосновения, оценить риски и выделить необходимые для этой работы ресурсы, чтобы в итоге найти взаимовыгодные пути развития двусторонних отношений.